top of page


Welcome to the driving force behind our vision—IHSTS's Board Members. Each member of our esteemed board brings a wealth of expertise, diverse perspectives, and unwavering commitment to shaping the future. Meet the dynamic individuals steering IHSTS toward innovation, sustainability, and success. From industry leaders to seasoned professionals, our board comprises a formidable team dedicated to realizing our mission. Explore the profiles below to get acquainted with the leaders steering IHSTS to new heights.

Kathleen Chouinor

Chief Executive Officer

Kathleen Chouinor

With an extensive background spanning more than three decades in health care leadership, Kathleen brings a wealth of experience to her role. Her career within BC health authorities has been dedicated to enhancing primary care, managing chronic diseases, and improving home health and long-term care. Kathleen's expertise extends to the government sector, where she spent three years at the Ministry of Health as a strategic advisor for Community Care.

Robert F. Woollard


Dr. Robert F. Woollard

Previously a family physician in rural British Columbia (BC), Dr. Woollard is a Professor Emeritus and former Head of the Department of Family Practice at the University of British Columbia. He is co-chair of the Global Consensus for Social Accountability and the World Summit on Social Accountability. He is heavily involved in the issues of the social accountability and accreditation of medical schools around the world.  He also serves as Associate Director of the Rural Coordination Centre of BC. In addition to his work in Canada, he is involved with extensive projects supporting many health systems in the Middle East, East Africa and Asia. Above all he is a husband, father, and grandfather.

Ian Rongve


Dr. Ian Rongve

Dr. Ian Rongve, currently serving as the Assistant Deputy Minister of the Strategy and Innovation Division at the Ministry of Health, has had a diverse career in senior roles within various ministries. He initially joined the Ministry of Health in June 2016 and played a crucial role in responding to the COVID-19 pandemic. His responsibilities expanded in June 2021, overseeing innovation, care models, and addressing systemic challenges. With a Ph.D. in economics, Ian has a rich academic and professional background, previously working as an assistant professor and holding senior positions in ministries like Finance, Health, Advanced Education, and Education.

Diana Miles

Governance & HR Committee Chair

Ms. Diane Miles

Diana Miles brings a wealth of leadership experience from her extensive career. Formerly the President and CEO of WorkSafeBC (Workers’ Compensation Board of B.C.), where she concluded her tenure in 2019, Diana held pivotal roles in HR, Operations, Administration, and Executive Leadership in both public and private organizations. Beyond her executive responsibilities, she actively participated in non-profit boards, showcasing her commitment to community service.

Diana's retirement didn't diminish her commitment to community causes. Even after stepping down from her executive role, she continues to serve on numerous non-profit boards, embodying her enduring commitment to making a positive impact in her community.

George Abbott

Board Chair

Dr. George Abbott

Dr. Abbott has enjoyed a long and distinguished career in politics and public service, holding many portfolios in the BC provincial government, including Education and Health. Prior to his election to the Legislature, Dr. Abbott was a Sessional Lecturer in Political Science at Okanagan University College. Dr. Abbott holds a PhD in political science and has published a book and peer-reviewed articles on public policy in British Columbia.

Tania Bubela


Dr. Tania Bubela

Dr. Tania Bubela, Professor and Dean of the Faculty of Health Sciences at Simon Fraser University, holds a distinguished background in health policy and management. With a JD (distinction) from the University of Alberta and a PhD from the University of Sydney, her expertise extends to intellectual property and health law related to translational biomedical research.

In addition to her academic contributions, Dr. Bubela provides strategic advice to government health and science agencies, life sciences research communities, and patient organizations, further emphasizing her commitment to advancing healthcare and biotechnology.

Alan Ruddiman


Dr. Alan Ruddiman

Dr. Ruddiman, an internationally trained rural generalist physician, boasts more than 25 years of service and is the immediate past-president of Doctors of BC. Born in Dundee, Scotland, he earned his MB.BCh. medical degree at the University of the Witwatersrand in Johannesburg.

He currently serves in as a consultant to the Rural Coordination Centre of BC (RCCBC), holding an Associate Director role, by promoting the enhancement of rural health in BC through education and advocacy.

Jan Grude


Mr. Jan Grude

Jan is a Senior Strategic Advisor with KPMG LLP. He was previously President & Chief Executive Officer of Pacific Blue Cross Blue Shield, British Columbia’s largest regulated insurer, and President & Chief Executive Officer of British Columbia Life & Casualty Company, a wholly owned subsidiary of Pacific Blue Cross. Jan retired from full time corporate life at the end of 2017. He has over thirty years of experience in financial services, insurance, pensions, and advisory services to health care, utilities, manufacturing and telecommunications. 

Samuel Abraham


Dr. Samuel Abraham

Dr. Abraham boasts an extensive career at the crossroads of research, business development, and clinical care within the BC health sector. With 15 years of dedicated service to the BC Cancer Agency and BC Provincial Health Services Authority, he has held diverse executive leadership roles in research and business development. Dr. Abraham is a distinguished professional with a Ph.D. in Genetics.

Barb Hambly


Ms. Barb Hambly

Ms. Hambly is a former executive in the health care system in Western Canada, with experience in both rural and urban health authorities in Alberta. As a former CFO and SVP, Human Resources she is well acquainted with the challenges of sustaining and transforming the delivery of high quality health services. She is the Vice Chair of Canada Health Infoway and serves on the Nomination Committee for the Oral Health College and the Governance Committee of the BC College of Nurses and Midwives.

Anna Nyarady


Anna Nyarady

Anna is President of The Dupuis Langen Group (DLG), an employee benefits firm.

Anna is a Chartered Director (C. Dir), having received her designation from McMaster University and is also a Certified Financial Planner (CFP).

Anna has also served on the boards of numerous organizations such as BC Assessment Authority, Royal BC Museum, Richmond Olympic Oval, BC Cancer Foundation, Richmond Hospital Foundation, and BC Sports Hall of Fame and Museum.

Bob de Faye

Finance & Audit Committee Chair

Mr. Bob de Faye

Mr. Bob de Faye's 32-year career in BC's Public Service includes many years as deputy minister and an assistant deputy minister in a range of portfolios, in addition to senior health-related roles in Treasury Board; health policy; health regionalization; Ministry of Health administration; and the Medical Services Commission.

As head of the Public Service Employer's Council he had major roles in bargaining, labor relations and workforce development for BC's health sector.

bottom of page